Late Afternoon Sun

Standard

Away from the busyness of life, I have retired to the backyard.

The birds chat about their day as the heat of the late afternoon sun pours over me.

The air is still and quiet for what seems to be hours.

Even the small splash of wine landing on the veranda does not disrupt my feeling of peace…for long.

I open my eyes, look around at the trees but can’t seem to find the birds that create the cacophony of chatter.

Deep breaths.

A gentle breeze cools my skin for a brief moment.

Eyes closed, I look up at the burning sun as it begins its illusion of descent into slumber.

Let there be peace.

Leave a Reply

