Veranda Chat

Standard

My daddy seemed older tonight.  Maybe I seemed older to him, too.  We had a private moment on the veranda and he said that he knows that I’m okay being by myself, but he worries that I am alone.  I said what I usually say, “I’m okay.  Everything is okay.”

One of the things about being 47 and single is that people want to either fix me up, feel sorry for me, or just leave me in the category of “cat lady.”  There are days where I truly am okay being alone.  There are days where I feel like shit that I’m alone.  Good Lord—who doesn’t feel that way already no matter their relationship status?

Or, maybe I’m just being over-sensitive.  Or perceptive.  Or enlightened.  Or drunk on cat hair.

Leave a Reply

