Lilac

Standard

So there I was, walking by a lilac bush. I avoided them once already that day. This time I stopped. I stared. I leaned in and inhaled, smelling the smell that would take me back. I still don’t fully understand why it takes me back. A reference in time is all I can guess. I used to hide behind the lilac bushes. At some point over the years the bushes were taken out. No one remembers when.

I got in my car, pulled out the parking lot, and started to cry. A few minutes later the tears had dried up and I felt nothing. I drove home, knowing that I would have a glass of wine and the need to write a bit.

Leave a Reply

