t-shirt

Standard

As an adult, I don’t always fit in but I’m usually okay with that.  I am definitely not “normal” but let’s just say I am normal-ish. 

I was thinking of a t-shirt I used to have when I was a kid.  I would have been about 10 or 11 years old—1978 or so.  It said “Why Be Normal?” and the “r” was backwards or the question mark was upside-down or something was goofy with how it was printed on the shirt.  Quite an odd thing to think about in the middle of the night when one should be sleeping, yes?  Sigh.

I don’t recall ever feeling “normal” with or without this silly shirt.  Wearing this shirt should have been a celebration of my uniqueness and the announcement to the world that I was different.  For me though, it was the official declaration that I would not fit in and I was destined to be whatever normal was not.  Or…maybe it was just a shirt. 

Leave a Reply

