IWCBTHY

Standard

This may sound weird, but I find it rude and insensitive to write RIP or R.I.P. when someone passes away.  It reminds me of when I was a kid and old cartoons would have RIP stamped on a headstone in a cemetery.  It seems truly disrespectful.  The idea of resting in peace sounds great—full of contentment and serenity.  RIP is icky slang and I don’t like it.  I do like acronyms and use them daily:  LOL, TY, WTF, WTFB, to name a few.  Sometimes I’ll use the acronym to write in my journal in code in case it falls into the wrong hands.  But, there is something about using RIP when speaking of the dead that seems flippant.  

I had better not get a message in the hereafter that someone used RIP when mentioning my passing.  I will come back to haunt you. 

Leave a Reply

