Letter to my babies

Standard

Hello my babies,

Recently, we heard a sermon series at church about Beloved Community… connecting with people, understanding that we are beloved by God, showing care and love for others, and other thought-provoking, touchy-feely, cool churchy stuff.  Each person who came to church received a rock with a word written on it, “beloved.”  It was a physical symbol to put in your pocket, purse, on a desk, shelf, nightstand, or somewhere to see and find as a reminder that we are not only loved, but beloved.  Beloved is like love only deeper—cherished, dear to the heart, unconditional. 

I wrote the word “beloved” on 150 rocks.  At first, I looked for the rocks that were just the right size, the proper smoothness, and a rock worthy of giving away to people at church.  There weren’t very many “perfect” rocks.  But, there were lots of other rocks:   interesting, imperfect, misshapen, broken rocks.  It was a learning experience for me.  We are not perfect.  We are interesting, broken, scarred, healed, smooth, colorful, and absolutely beloved. 

So, I am giving you each a rock.  A small, physical symbol and reminder that you are God’s beloved.  You are my beloved.  I am so blessed to be your mom and see you both grow up with your unique personalities and individual awesomeness.  I am very proud of you.  My heart overflows with joy at all the new adventures headed our way as a family, even if our roofs are in different places.  🙂

Love, Love, Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

